A Book I Like – The Witch’s Shield: Protection Magick and Psychic Self-Defense

Willow

In my house, we are one witch fairly new to the Reclaiming Tradition of the Craft, having found the community as an adult (me), and one hereditary witch (my partner). And let’s not forget the cat, I suppose. We don’t know much about Willow’s history, but she came to us at 10 years old, and magic clearly comes naturally to her.  All this is to say that I am the person in our family that has to do the most seeking, research and fumbling around (at times) to learn the disciplines/arts of the Craft. The coursework I’ve done and the community I’m involved in is amazing, but there’s so much to learn.

Don’t get me wrong. I love the process of discovery. But sometimes I do get jealous. The other day my love looked incredulously across the table at me and said “You should be protecting yourself at all times!” Like, hello! But I didn’t have an elder in my life as a kid who taught me that – let alone how to do it.

At the end of a major internet research sesh, enter an incredibly useful book for someone like me: The Witch’s Shield by Christopher Penczak.

Here are some things I enjoy about the book:

  • Penczak explains all concepts clearly and simply. His writing is so accessible.
  • This book presents us with a toolbox. There are a wide variety of strategies to use for protection – from symbols, stones and herbs, to incantations and rituals. There were some sections that didn’t appeal to me, but I could just skip them, and still have a whole lot of other tools to study, which was awesome.
  • The meditations on the CD included were useful. His pacing is slow for me on the tracks, but I appreciated being led through the practices that way first.
  • The book is comprehensive. Penczak covers topics from psychic hygiene, symptoms of psychic or magickal harm, and discussion of ethics as pertains to protection magick.

This is a book I imagine I will reference often throughout my life. I’d definitely recommend it to anyone embarking on the study of protection magick.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

